Menu Close

September 1, 2015 Minutes

Council of the Corporation of
The Township of Billings
Regular Meeting
September 1, 2015

PRESENT: Mayor Austin Hunt, Councillors Sharon Alkenbrack, Barb Erskine, Tom Imrie, Brian Parker
Staff: Kathy McDonald, Clerk Treasurer and Rick Rusk, Public Works Superintendent
Media: Tom Sasvari and Sharon Jackson
Delegations: North Channel Financial (Bill and Mike Wall)
Members of the General Public

2015-319 Alkenbrack – Imrie
BE IT RESOLVED THAT this regular meeting of the Council of the Corporation of the Township of Billings be opened at 7:30 p.m. with Mayor Austin Hunt presiding.

2015-320 Alkenbrack – Imrie
BE IT RESOLVED THAT the agenda for the September 1, 2015 regular meeting of Council be accepted as amended.

The agenda was amended to add under 12. Closed Session a) Identifiable Person.

2015-321 Imrie – Alkenbrack
BE IT RESOLVED THAT Council accepts the minutes of the August 17, 2015 regular meeting as presented.

A presentation was made to Council by North Channel Financial Services Inc, Bill and Mike Wall, regarding pension plans.

Councillor Imrie reported on the August 20, 2015 Centennial Manor Meeting.
Councillor Erskine reported on the Recreation Committee and that the Go Green Committee would be having its first meeting on September 23, 2015.
Councillor Alkenbrack reported on the EDC meeting on August 27, 2015.
Mayor Hunt reported on the AMO Conference that he attended earlier this month.
2015-322 Alkebrack – Erskine
BE IT RESOLVED THAT Council appoints to the Library Board as follows: Bill Elliott, Barb Edwards, Ruth Farquhar, Diane Larocque, Ria Mack, Renee Patterson, Delroy Prescott and Sharon Alkenbrack (Council Representative).

2015-323 Alkenbrack – Erskine
BE IT RESOLVED THAT Council directs the Clerk Treasurer to sign an agreement to enter into a contract to have Pinchin Ltd. complete a Building Condition Assessment at the Fire hall, located at 95 Main Street, the cost to be $3400.

2015-324 Parker – Alkenbrack
BE IT RESOLVED THAT Council appoints the following people to the Go Green Committee: Sandy Cook, Sophie Edwards, Sharon Jackson, John Rozon, Maureen Strickland, Chris Theijsmeijer and Barb Erskine as Council Representative.

2015-325 Imrie – Parker
WHEREAS, the Township of Billings declared the 2000 Freightliner MCV as surplus and instructed the Clerk Treasurer to sell by bid and
AND WHEREAS the successful bid, meeting all bid requirements, was from Kurtis Noble, in the amount of $3311.00
NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT Council instructs the Clerk Treasurer to complete the paperwork to transfer the Freightliner with snow plow to Kurtis Noble.

2015-326 Erskine – Parker
BE IT RESOLVED THAT Council has no concerns, information, or conditions to add to the application for Consent, File No. B37-15.

2015-327 Alkenbrack – Erskine
BE IT RESOLVED THAT Council authorizes the following accounts for payment:

General Accounts $ 99,105.63
Water Capital Accounts $381,769.87

and that the Mayor and Treasurer be authorized to sign cheques number 3310 to 3334 and 94 and 95 as described in the attached register.

205-328 Alkenbrack – Parker
BE IT RESOLVED THAT in accordance with Section239 of the Municipal Act, 2001 S.O. 25, this Council proceeds to a Closed Session at 8:30p.m. in order to discuss a matter pertaining to b) Personal matters about an identifiable individual, including municipal or local board.
Resolution passed in Camera providing the Clerk Treasurer with directions.

2015-330 Imrie – Parker
BE IT RESOLVED THAT Council adjourns from this in camera session at 8:59 p.m. and resumes our regular meeting.

2015-331 Alkenbrack – Erskine
BE IT RESOLVED THAT By-Law 2015-36, being a by-law to confirm the proceedings of Council be given first, second and third reading and enacted.

2015-332 Erskine – Alkenbrack
BE IT RESOLVED THAT Council adjourns from this regular meeting of Council at 9:01 p.m. until our next regular meeting of September 21, 2015 or Call of the Chair.
_______________________________  ________________________________
Austin Hunt, Mayor                                            Kathy McDonald, Clerk Treasurer


These minutes have been prepared but are not considered official until approved by Council at a subsequent meeting.